Youth Climate Action Council

The City of Boise is taking bold steps to address climate change and is bringing youth leaders to the table to help drive climate solutions. The 2021 Youth Climate Action Council is made up of students from across the city to represent new voices and spark local action.

The youth council members are working alongside city staff to imagine, strategize, and complete the design and building of projects and actions that will tangibly impact Boise. The youth council is collaborating on efforts to mitigate climate change, reduce greenhouse gas emissions, develop public art, and create community education and engagement.

The city is committed to ensuring that Boise is a resilient community in the face of climate change. It is critical that Boise works together to mitigate climate impacts, build a robust climate economy, and craft community-based solution. City staff will help coordinate the council and equip the team with the tools they need for success.


Co-chairs lead the youth council in climate action with a behind-the-scenes experience in local climate action planning. Co-chairs volunteer to serve a ten-month term from March – December 2021.

John Harris − Council Co-chair
Capital High School

Abby Gnojewski − Council Co-chair
Timberline High School

John Harris - Council Co-chair
John Harris - Council Co-chair, Capital High School
Abby Gnojewski - Council Co-chair
Abby Gnojewski - Council Co-chair, Timberline High School

Council Members

The City of Boise selected students with diverse perspectives who are passionate about climate action in their community. Council members volunteer to serve a nine-month term from April – December 2021.

Alekya Tanikella – Council member  
Capital High School

Alexandria Combo – Council member
Timberline High School

Asha Muhingi – Council member  
Capital High School

Jessica Abraham – Council member  
Timberline High School

Hailey Clark – Council member  
Bishop Kelly High School

Jayden Rehwalt – Council member  
Centennial High School

Mackenzie Link – Council member  
One Stone

Maya Mazariegos – Council member  
Borah High School

Myrie Murphy – Council member  
Boise High School

Skyler Barzee – Council member  
Idaho Virtual Academy

hiking in foothills trail
mayors youth climate action council

Message Sent Successfully!

Message Failed To Send.

Send a Message to Mayor's Office

Thank you for your interest in the City of Boise Mayor's Office. Please complete the form to have your inquiry sent to the Mayor's Office staff.