The Fair Housing Act

Who is Protected?

The Fair Housing Act prohibits housing discrimination because of Race, Color, Religion, Sex, Disability, National Origin or Familial Status (families with children). 

Prohibited Actions

The following actions, if based on a consumer's association with one or more of the protected classes listed above, are prohibited:

  • Refusal to rent or sell or negotiate for housing
  • Making housing unavailable
  • Denial of a dwelling
  • Setting different terms, conditions or privileges for sale or rental of a dwelling
  • Providing different housing services or facilities
  • Falsely denying that housing is available for inspection, sale or rental
  • Denial of access to or membership in a facility or service related to the sale or rental of housing
  • Steering prospective tenants to a certain neighborhood, development or unit
  • Refusal to make a mortgage loan or provide information regarding loan
  • Imposing different terms or conditions on a loan
  • Discrimination in appraising property
  • Refusal to purchase a loan
  • Setting different terms or conditions for purchasing a loan

Message Sent Successfully!

Message Failed To Send.

Send a Message to Fair Housing

Thank you for your interest in the City of Boise's Fair Housing program. Please use the form below to contact a member of our team.