DUI Night STEP

BPD's Night STEP team is responsible for most of the city's DUI arrests. STEP stands for Selected Traffic Enforcement Program. Night STEP officers have specialized training in recognition, arrest, and prosecution of drunk drivers.

About Drunk Driving

In Idaho, a blood alcohol content of .08 or above is considered impaired, and legally drunk. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, all 50 states have now passed .08 BAC laws for impaired driving. An NHTSA study shows nearly 97% of Americans view drinking and driving by others as a threat to their families and themselves. The study found Americans rank drunk driving ahead of healthcare, poverty, the environment and gun control as an important social issue. The majority of Americans support increased enforcement efforts, according to the NHTSA.

National statistics show 40% of those killed in auto accident are involved in alcohol related crashes.

Police vehicle with lights on

Boise Police Recommend:

  • Plan ahead! If you plan to drink, choose a designated driver or plan to take a taxicab or a driving service to get home.
  • Plan to spend the night where the activity is held.
  • Serve non-alcoholic beverages at your gathering.
  • Report impaired drivers immediately to your local law enforcement -  call 911.
  • Always buckle up. Seat belts are your best defense against an impaired driver

MADD CRISIS LINE: (800) 680-6233 / MADD Idaho: (208) 853-3700

Free Help for Local Bars and Restaurants

The Boise Police Department offers classes for local bar and restaurant employees on serving alcohol responsibly. The education covers how to recognize fake ID's, how to read Idaho ID's and Idaho laws on serving alcohol. The education is free to any Boise business.

Penalties

These penalties are maximums allowed under Idaho code. Each DUI case is handled individually by the courts. DUI for age 21 and over is a Blood Alcohol Content of .08 or more. DUI for under age 21 is a Blood Alcohol Content of .02 or more. DUI for 21 and over but driving a commercial vehicle is a Blood Alcohol Content of .04 or above. 

First DUI Arrest

  • 6 months in county jail
  • $1,000 fine
  • 30 day mandatory license suspension
  • License suspension max is 180 days to a year
  • Probation for up to two years
  • Required alcohol evaluation and eduation

Second DUI Arrest (within 10 years of first)

  • 10 days to one year in the county jail
  • $2,000 fine
  • One year mandatory license suspension or up to two years

Third DUI Arrest (within 10 years)

  • Classified as a felony
  • 10 years in prison, minimum 30 days in jail
  • $5,000 fine
  • One to five year license suspension

Aggravated DUI

When great bodily harm, permanent disability or permanent disfigurement to another is caused in the course of committing a DUI

  • Classified as a Felony
  • 15 years in prison, minimum 30 days in jail
  • $5,000 fine
  • One to five years license suspension, beginning at the end of the period of incarceration

Enhanced DUI

When blood alcohol level (BAC) is .20 or above

  • First time arrest for enhanced DUI equals penalties for normal second time arrest for standard DUI.
  • Second arrest (within five years) for enhanced DUI is a felony, with penalties equal to third time arrest for standard DUI.

Message Sent Successfully!

Message Failed To Send.

Send a Message to Police

Thank you for contacting the Boise Police Department. Please fill out the form and someone from the department will be in touch with you.

If this is an emergency, please call 911.